This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Athletic Awards 2021

By Jennifer Fogarty, communications content manager
Congratulations to fall season Torreys for their discipline, intention and character.
Middle and Upper School student-athletes were recognized for their strong team-building skills such as effort, coachability and improvement this season during the fall athletic awards ceremonies. 

Coaches from cheer, cross country, field hockey, flag football, football, golf, tennis, volleyball and water polo programs relayed their pride in students’ accomplishments and how they represented themselves, their families, their teams and La Jolla Country Day School.

Upper School Varsity
MVP: Reagan Stein
Coach’s Award: Emma Araya
Most Improved: Sophia Cardoza

Cross Country
Most Valuable Runner: Alyssa Vo
Most Valuable Runner: Paul Criado
Coach’s Award: Aidan Ideker
Coach’s Award: Jake Needle
Best Teammate Award: Eisa al Mazrouei

Field Hockey
Leadership Award: Julia Cortes Romo
GREAT Award: Kathleen McElroy
Resilience Award: Charlotte Izadi

Rashaan Salaam Player of the Year: Sam Alligood
Thomas Wright Blue Collar Award: Charlie Gooding
Rick Woods Most Improved Player: Anthony Aruffo
Torrey Pride Award: Mondo Nishiba
Pride Team Player of the Year: Packy Whelan

MVP: Ashley Ding

MVP: Maddie Piao
Big Blue Award: Emily Bernstein
Big Blue Award: Bianca Wong

The ROOTS Award: Olivia Sampson
Coach’s Award: Hailey Grimaud
MVP: Bianka Lulic
Rookie of the Year: Emily French

Water Polo
MVP: Harris Feinman
Coach’s Award: Alexander Randall
Most Improved Award: Max Feng

Upper School Junior Varsity
Cross Country
JV Recognition Award: Ethan Yuan
JV Recognition Award: Teddy Chen

Field Hockey
Together Award: Suzy Leff
Growth Award: Anna Holland
Leadership Award: Gabby Cesaire

Blue Collar Award: Santino Grasso
Blue Collar Award: Gavin Ni
Most Improved Player: Isaac Grassi
Most Improved Player: Gavin Stein
Torrey Pride Award: Jack Levin

MVP: Gray McKee
Most Improved: Sumayah Sugapong
Coach’s Award: Ria Loomba

Upper School Novice
MVP: Trisha Rao
Most Improved: Regan Schneider
Coach’s Award: Isabella Manuel

Middle School
Cross Country
Bleed Blue: Vicky Chen   
Most Inspirational: Jackson Weisser 
Motivational Award: Erik Tang

Flag Football
A Team 
Heart & Hustle Award: Keenan Ward
Torrey Leadership Award: Jett Astephen
Most Improved Award: Jose Partida

Blue Team  
Heart & Hustle Award: Rocco Taccone
Torrey Leadership Award: Owen Dorros
Most Improved Award: Aaron Guss

Black Team 
Enthusiasm Award: Nick Mogul 
Torrey Leadership Award: Brody Glazer
Inspirational Award: Nate Toranto 

Most Improved Golfer: Panos Kaperonis  
Torrey Leadership Award: Aidan DesRosiers-Kutchuk   
Torrey Award: Rob Luddy

A Team
Most Inspirational: Olina Shi  
Heart & Hustle: Alice Burgett  
Relentless & Resilient: Lolly Mirhashemi

B Blue Team  
Motivational Award: Ariana Ludwig   
Most Inspirational Award: Marley Wagner  
Torrey Coach’s Award: Myla Goldsztein   

B White Team
Torrey Leadership Award: Lily Raiszadeh
Motivational Award: Paula Icaza
Bleed Blue Award: Delilah Shulman

C Team
Torrey Spirit: Angie Hu   
Most Inspirational Award: Zarina Abdulakhatova  
Torrey Leadership Award: Analise Gomez  

La Jolla Country Day School

9490 Genesee Avenue
La Jolla, CA 92037

© 2021 La Jolla Country Day School

Privacy Policy

COVID-19 Safety Plan

Country Day Connection Newsletter