As we look forward to our 100th year, we reflect on our vibrant history. Our giving societies, each named for a chapter of our story, honor our past.
Louise Balmer, an educator from Illinois, founded our school in 1926 in a small cottage in La Jolla. The school opened with four primary students. As the school’s reputation grew and enrollment increased, it outgrew several locations, all in La Jolla, surrounded by Torrey pine trees. In the fall of 1942, the school moved to Wisteria Cottage, now known as the La Jolla Historical Society.
In 1955, The Balmer School became La Jolla Country Day School. At the time, the school served students in Grades Pre-K–5, and plans were made to begin adding one additional grade each year. In 1964, LJCDS graduated its first class of 26 seniors.
In 1957, Donald Leavenworth was named headmaster of La Jolla Country Day School. Mr. Leavenworth was an alumnus of Yale University, and brought Yale’s colors, blue and white, to his new school.
The school moved to its current site in 1961. Today, LJCDS educates more than 1,100 Torreys, who wear their blue and white colors with pride.