This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Athletic Hall of Fame

The La Jolla Country Day School (LJCDS) athletic program has been a part of the school’s history for many years. As a tribute to the athletes, coaches and individuals who have contributed significantly to LJCDS athletics, the Athletic Hall of Fame was established in 2006. Along with athletic accomplishments, the virtues of being a scholar, artist and athlete of character are celebrated in the Athletic Hall of Fame.

2021 Hall of Fame Class

Congratulations to the 2021 Athletic Hall of Fame inductees:

Athlete: Diego Rovira ’00
Athlete: Lauren Swigart ’03

Team: 2001-2002 Women’s Basketball— Candice Wiggins ’04, June Brubaker Landry ’02, LaToya Cunningham ’05, Mercedes Fox-Griffin ’05, Ashley Rentz Kerins ’03, Marissa Rivera ’04, Chrystina Sayers ’05, Gabriela Sanz-Douglass ’04, Sarah Wilson ’02 

Coach: Jerry Fleischhacker


A person can qualify for the Hall of Fame by falling into one of the following categories:
  • Athlete: a graduate from LJCDS who participated in LJCDS athletics and earned a letter in a particular sport. All nominees must have been out of high school for a minimum of 10 years.
  • Coach/Administrator: coaches or administrators at LJCDS are eligible after they retire from LJCDS.
  • Friend of sport: Those who have given meritorious service or are a loyal friend to the athletic program.
  • Team: An LJCDS team that has distinguished itself through extraordinary efforts and accomplishments and has been out of high school for a minimum of 10 years.

Hall of Fame Committee Members

The Hall of Fame Committee consists of seven members including the LJCDS athletic director; a current member of the coaching staff to be appointed by the athletic director; a retired member of the coaching staff to be appointed by the athletic director; Booster Club president or their appointed representative; alumni director; head of school or their appointed representative; a LJCDS graduate appointed by the alumni director.

All committee members will have full voting privileges concerning committee action. The current athletic director will act as chairman of the committee. The vice chairman and secretary will be voted on from within the committee.

For the Hall of Fame committee to conduct official business, a quorum of five members must be present.

Click here to learn more about the Hall of Fame nomination procedures or to nominate an athlete, coach, friend or team.

La Jolla Country Day School

9490 Genesee Avenue
La Jolla, CA 92037

© 2023 La Jolla Country Day School

Privacy Policy

COVID-19 Safety Plan

Country Day Connection Newsletter