This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Music Honor Society Induction Ceremony 

By Jennifer Fogarty, communications content manager
Student-musicians are inducted into the music honor society.

The Madrigals kicked off the 4th Annual Tri-M Music Honor Society induction ceremony on October 4, with a performance of “The Flower Medley,” a song arranged by LJCDS’ first Upper School choir director Keith Heldman. The Tri-M Music Honor Society inductees were thoughtfully nominated on the basis of scholarship, character, leadership and service. 

The ceremony welcomed 15 new student-musicians, recognized current members for their devoted service, and honored senior members with pink cords to wear at graduation. Aster Holman ’22 earned the special distinction of being the first four-year Tri-M member at LJCDS.

“The dedication and love of music these students and their families have and continue to make is inspiring,” shares strings and orchestra educator Joan Diener. “With 40 Tri-M members, that shows us that music is alive and well on our campus. Tri-M is an organization where students can make connections with other students across the different disciplines in music, can volunteer with others to bring the joy of music to their communities, and can become leaders who help change the lives of so many people.”

Founded in 1936, Tri-M has been a program of the National Association for Music Education since 1983 and is designed to recognize students for their academic and musical achievements and to provide leadership and service opportunities to young musicians worldwide. Through performance and community service, students develop confidence, creativity, critical thinking, compassion and other leadership skills that will serve them well in school and beyond.

Congratulations to the 2021–2022 Tri-M inductees:

Maya Bateman ’24 
Allison Casey ’24
Teddy Chen ’24
Ayla Desai ’25
Max Feng ’25
Maddy Goldman ’23 
Matthew Kenville ’25
Gavin Ni ’25
Alexander Price ’22
Kellen Rooney ’22
Akshar Sharma ’22
Henry Timmermann ’22
Destiny Villareal ’22
Sam Yang ’22
Dylan Zou-Schupp ’23

La Jolla Country Day School

9490 Genesee Avenue
La Jolla, CA 92037

© 2022 La Jolla Country Day School

Privacy Policy

COVID-19 Safety Plan

Country Day Connection Newsletter